We interrupt your regularly scheduled programming to bring you this announcement

Hi, everyone! I haven’t posted very much since we got back from our trips, or even talked about our other trip to Gatlinburg. That’s because all my attention has been focused on finding one thing. And here she is!

20130808-224948.jpg We’ve been thinking about getting a second dog for a while, but I tried to forget about it since we knew we’d be gone half of this summer. We started talking about it again while we were Norway. And I think Story is finally mature enough to set a good example for a puppy. So after we were done with all our major travels, I started the hunt for the perfect one. And the perfect one in my mind was a female merle border collie that was on the smaller side (they can range anywhere from about 25-60 pounds) and wasn’t too high energy (so as not to terrorize us and eat the house). I scavenged through all (seriously, all of them) the border collie breeders on the Internet. I was pretty specific about what I was looking for, so I thought I would be putting my name on a waiting list for a month or two, but I ended up finding a few really good options, and we chose this little slate merle girl. Her breeder says she should have a medium energy level and will be about 35 pounds.

20130808-230345.jpgBorder collies have been my favorite dog breed for as long as I can remember. (It probably has something to do with seeing the movie “Babe” as a kid.) I didn’t consider them when we were getting Story though, because we lived in that little duplex without a fenced yard. And if you don’t know much about border collies, they’re fairly energetic dogs that need some space. They’re generally considered the most intelligent of all breeds, are highly trainable, and excel at canine sports like agility (which I would love to try). She’s also going to make a great running partner.

20130808-225353.jpg Right now she’s just five weeks old, and we’ll be picking her up when she’s eight weeks old on Labor Day weekend. She currently lives in Michigan, so it’ll be a two day venture for us. Matt’s already figured out how he can get a baseball game out of it, too. We don’t have a name picked out yet, but we’ve thought up some good ones. And her breeder has promised to send more pictures this weekend. We’ll keep you posted!

20130808-231636.jpg

7 thoughts on “We interrupt your regularly scheduled programming to bring you this announcement

  1. Oh my!!!!! Are you sure?!!! More expenses, shedding, sneezing. Afraid you may have lost your dog sitter also…don’t think I want to keep two at a time!

    • Well yes, we’re sure. I wouldn’t have told the whole Internet if we weren’t…
      We got to visit with a prospective breeder outside of Nashville and her dogs for about an hour, and I had no problems with sneezing. Border collies aren’t heavy shedders, either.

  2. She is really a cutie…I didn’t know border collies came in varieties like that. Maybe she will stay on the smallish side. A good playmate for Story!

    • Yeah, border collies are bred for herding ability instead of confirmation, so they come in lots of colors, sizes, etc. We think Story will loooove having a playmate!

Leave a Reply

