It’s spring!

Yay, spring is officially here! Last week Matt and I did some work getting the garden beds ready, and I have since planted some spinach, lettuce, cauliflower, Brussels sprouts, kale, onions, and peas. My salad garden is going right here by the steps for easy access.

20130320-232354.jpg This little parsley plant has been toughing it out all winter.

20130320-232453.jpg Most of the seedlings I’ve started inside are doing great, too. I love looking at the tiny tomato seedlings and thinking how they’ll be huge sprawling plants before the summer is over. And the first batch of sugar snap and snow peas is hardening off and almost ready for planting. I’m definitely not putting them in the ground before Friday though, because we’re expecting some below freezing temperatures at night. Along those lines, today I put some floating row covers over the seeds I planted.

20130320-231427.jpg I’ve never used them before, but I’ve read great things about them. They’re thin enough to let light and water through, but raise the temperature and humidity underneath several degrees and can protect against frost. I think they’re going to be a lifesaver for my garden this year. Matt and I are leaving for our trip to Norway during the ideal planting time for lots of big summer crops (tomatoes, peppers, etc) so I needed to be able to move the planting period up a week or two. Floating row covers were the perfect solution. They’ll also come in handy for a keeping a certain little white dog out of my strawberries!

6 thoughts on “It’s spring!

    • I don’t know…this afternoon she was trying to scratch an itch while following me to the bathroom. First she ran into the door and then she hit her head on the toilet.

  1. So you’re saying that she’s cunning enough to trick you into thinking she’s clumsy?! If she really likes vegetables, she’ll be rooting around in your garden before long!

    I haven’t heard of floating covers – let me know if they work well. I might need to get one or two for our garden, although Russ hasn’t planted anything yet. We’re still trying to get a patch of ground ready to BE a garden! That clay is going to take a lot of amending.

  2. Blair spent Saturday getting our raised beds ready. In went the broccoli, cauliflower, and onions. My garlic is out and looks great. I think we’re going to have to put out covers to keep the rabbits from eating everything. Where did you get yours?

Leave a Reply

