Freezer makeover

For the past several days I’ve been working on organizing our freezer. Unfortunately there is no ‘before’ photo, but let’s just say that it had gotten to the point where opening the freezer door was a dangerous activity. Check out the after!

20130314-234734.jpgIs it weird that I keep looking inside now just to see how pretty it is? I got those tall bins at the Container Store when we went to Atlanta on Saturday (because every husband wants to spend his birthday shopping, right? Thanks, Matt!) among other organizational items (hint, hint). I had seen that several other bloggers used them to organize their freezers, and they turned out to be the perfect size. The ones on the bottom are fridge binz from Bed Bath and Beyond. The cute little printable labels I got from Staples. Did you know they have a whole Martha Stewart collection over there? I’m obsessed.

20130314-235704.jpgI also got Matt to laminate this freezer inventory list for me so we can keep track of what food we have. It’s going to be especially handy for the deep freeze, since it’s sort of a pain to trek down to the basement and see what’s in there.

On a side note, I also got one fridge bin to keep in the refrigerator. I’ve been trying to find some kind of container to store all my seed packets in, and when I saw this narrow bin I knew it was perfect.

20130315-000413.jpg Everyone says that the refrigerator is the best place to keep seeds anyway, and this slides right in and hardly takes up any room.

20130315-000824.jpgSo, what do you think? Is your freezer super-organized? Or is it more like our previous avalanche waiting to happen?

8 thoughts on “Freezer makeover

  1. That looks fantastic! Fortunately I don’t really have a problem anymore since I purchased the fridge with the bottom pullout freezer drawer. Oh, but I do remember how it used to be! I’m so proud of you! Who knew my teenage daughter who would not keep her room picked up would turn out to be so neat & organized! Luv ya!

  2. **snicker** at Anita’s comment! That’s what I thought about Rachel after she left home, too! Eventually, they really DO grow up 🙂

  3. That looks great! I’m in the process of stocking up my freezer…I hope to one day organize it…Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Lucky! I’m just glad your parents bought us the one little deep freeze. I took some pictures of how I organized it too, so those might be making an appearance soon.

Leave a Reply

