Our First Antique

Ever since the Christmas tree came down, this corner has been looking particularly lonely.

20130213-225357.jpgWe had a floor lamp there before (since Matt is morally opposed to overhead lighting), but it looked sort of awkward. So I’ve been trying to find a console table or something similar to put over there. I tend toward shiny, new, modern furniture, but none of my usual sources turned up anything that was tall enough, shallow enough, or under $200 enough. We have a place, Nostalgia, that specializes in mid century furniture and is in fact the only antique store I’ve ever enjoyed setting foot in. So, we thought it was worth a shot to stop by while we were in the area on Sunday. After wandering half the store with no luck we rounded a corner and BAM! There it was: the cutest little bookcase with nice wooden legs and sliding glass doors. It was tall enough, shallow enough, and definitely $60 enough.

20130213-210908.jpgAlthough I kind of like the color, it’s wood veneer, so I’ll be painting it. I’m going to keep the legs the natural wood color, since they are solid wood. The rest is going to be white with maybe grey on the inside. Any thoughts? If the weather’s as nice as it’s supposed to be tomorrow I’m going to take it outside and prime it.

5 thoughts on “Our First Antique

  1. I like it! Appears to be a perfect fit for the space. I think your color choices to paint it would work great. Are the animals displayed on top new? They are cute!

  2. I think that this piece of furniture will look wonderful painted white, but then its original colouring sits well in your home being that the floor is wood, I always like to see a mixed variety of woods together as these days that too is rather modern. Whatever your choice will be I am sure that it will fit right in. Have a lovely Valentine’s Day with your man 🙂

Leave a Reply

