First Attempt at Cheesemaking

One of the things I was doing in my kitchen yesterday afternoon was making ricotta cheese! Last year I got a great cookbook called The Homemade Pantry. It has recipes for all the things you know you could have been making yourself but haven’t, and also recipes for things that you never realized could be made easily at home. Ricotta is one of the latter. And it only needs two ingredients: milk and lemon.

20130201-211813.jpgHeat the milk and lemon juice to 175 degrees (it took mine about an hour). At that point it will definitely be starting to look like cheese!

20130201-212005.jpgThen you’re supposed to heat it to 205 degrees but not bring it to a boil. Maybe I did something wrong, because mine started boiling way before that. But it still turned into cheese anyway, so it’s all good! After that let it sit for ten minutes then strain through a cheesecloth.

20130201-212404.jpgAnd just like that, cheese is created!

20130201-212440.jpgYou’re also left with a good amount of whey, which my book says is great in bread, soup, smoothies…I’m not sure yet what I’ll use mine for. Probably bread.

20130201-212627.jpgSo if you never have, try making some cheese! It really couldn’t be easier. I was even cleaning my seed starting kit the whole time the cheese was doing its thing. And now I have homemade ricotta to use in my spinach lasagna…

Happy cheesemaking!

3 thoughts on “First Attempt at Cheesemaking

  1. Your spinach lasagna should taste extra special! I will be interested in how you use the whey & if it makes a difference in your bread, etc.

  2. I have never even thought of making my own cheeses but your posting makes it sound interesting and fun, so perhaps this will be a recipe for the future 🙂 I am pretty good at making pancakes though 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

