December Harvest

This summer I tried growing sweet potatoes for the first time. Since my regular potatoes didn’t do so great I didn’t have high hopes for the sweet potatoes. But when I dug them the other day I was pleasantly surprised! See those brown vines all along the fence? Those are my plants. Or were. You know sweet potatoes are ready to harvest when the vines die.

20121202-225618.jpg
When I was digging them it became apparent that I’d had some sort of burrowing visitors who helped themselves to a sweet potato snack along the way. Can you see those little teeth marks?!

20121202-230055.jpg
But I still ended up with a garden tote full of potatoes (including some Russian banana fingerlings that eluded me the first time).

20121202-225838.jpg
Since I had all those potatoes plus carrots and parsnips just waiting to be picked, it was about time to make some roasted winter vegetables. I like to use this recipe from Vegetarian Times as a guide. Of course, you can use whatever vegetables and herbs you like. I used sweet potatoes instead of acorn squash, pumpkin (leftover fall decorations!) instead of butternut squash, and sage instead of basil (because that’s what was in my garden).

20121203-220719.jpg
Chop up your vegetables and toss with olive oil and herbs (and hope you have a roasting pan big enough for all of it, unlike me)…

20121203-221044.jpg
Pop in the oven for 45 minutes and…ta da! I love that everything in this recipe except the pumpkin came from my garden.

20121203-221221.jpg
Herb-Roasted Winter Vegetables (adapted from Vegetarian Times)

Serves 6

2 Tbs. olive oil
1 Tbs. chopped fresh rosemary
12 whole fresh sage leaves
1 Tbs. chopped fresh thyme
2 cloves garlic, minced (2 tsp.)
1 pumpkin, cut into ½-inch-thick slices (2½ lb.)
1 lb sweet potatoes
2 medium carrots, cut into ½-inch thick slices (1 cup)
2 medium parsnips, (or 1 giant parsnip!) cut into ½-inch thick slices (1 cup)

1. Preheat oven to 400°F. Lightly oil rimmed baking sheet or roasting pan.

2. Whisk together oil, rosemary, thyme, and garlic in large bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Add pumpkin, sweet potatoes, carrots, and parsnips; toss to coat. Spread in single layer on prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle with sage leaves. Roast 45 minutes, or until vegetables are tender and beginning to brown, stirring every 15 minutes.

nutrition facts

4 thoughts on “December Harvest

  1. Pingback: Happy New Year! | spaceapple seed

Leave a Reply

