Lightening!

Just struck a tree in our yard!

20120621-214009.jpg

Please note the three foot long strip of bark on the ground!

20120621-214204.jpg
I happened to be facing the window and saw what I thought was an explosion and then heard what sounded like a gunshot. When I realized that there was most likely not a murderer with a gun in my backyard, I looked out and saw splinters of bark all over the ground. Story came out with me to investigate and upon sniffing a piece of singed wood retreated to hide under my bed for the next half hour. Most dogs are afraid of the normal parts of storms like thunder and lightening. Mine is the one who’s scared of the scent of something burnt.

3 thoughts on “Lightening!

  1. Zounds!!! I would hide under the bed with Story if lightning hit that close to my house! Smart doggie.

    Glad to know you and your electronics are okay, and the house wasn’t hit – and you aren’t even at the very tip-top of the hill!

Leave a Reply

