Happy Fall!

In celebration of the first day of fall (which happens to be my favorite season) I’m posting some pictures of my summer garden. Better late than never, right? I took these just before I started pulling up the summer plants to get cool-weather ones started.

Here it is!

I ordered some super cool garden markers. They’re made to be reused year after year.

Here they are in action.

There were also friends in my garden! This praying mantis hung around for about a week, and was very photogenic.

If you’d like to see exactly what plants I had growing this summer, you can check out my garden plan here. And if you want to see what it will be like later in the fall, you can look here. So far I’ve already started planting the cannellini beans, mesclun greens, sugar snap peas, spinach, parsnips, carrots, snow peas, fava beans, cilantro, and arugula. My broccoli, broccolini, and cauliflower plants have been growing in the windowsill for several weeks. And I just got a letter in the mail last week that the garlic is shipping very soon. I ordered most of my seeds from Sow True Seed, a small company in North Carolina that specializes in organic seed.

In other news, this morning I accepted a paid position with the Knoxville Opera as a mezzo-soprano. We will be performing Gounod’s Roméo et Juliet in February. If you want to know more, go to the Knoxville Opera’s website. Hopefully I’ll be able to stay on for more productions after this; I think most people do. It’s not that much, but I can’t believe I’m going to get paid to do something so fun!

2 thoughts on “Happy Fall!

  1. Wow!! Sounds like you have planned another great garden. Love those garden markers. That praying mantis certainly is colorful! Congratulations on your position with the Knoxville Opera! Looks like I might have to plan a trip to Knoxville in February! 🙂

  2. Hey, I love your new banner – so colorful BIG CONGRATS on your opera gig!!! I’m very proud of you 🙂

    Russ was impressed with the praying mantis photos – it certainly was huge! Hope he didn’t make himself too comfortable in your summer garden…he may decide to make a return visit this fall. I really like the garden markers. We’re looking forward to seeing your garden in person next weekend!

Leave a Reply

