I’m blogging!

I know, I can’t believe it either! But I thought you might like to know what we’re up to half way around the world. Who knows, maybe I’ll even keep it up when we get back…

So if you’ve completely missed the memo, Matt and I are in Berlin. We got here yesterday around 11:30am after three uneventful flights. We’re seven hours ahead of you here(if you’re in central time). We are renting an apartment which I will post pictures of tomorrow, because it’s dark right now, and I don’t like to see pictures of peoples’ houses in the dark. It’s a nice apartment with one bedroom, one bath, a kitchen, a living room, and lots of Ikea furniture. Speaking of Ikea, we went there today. Berlin has FOUR, as it turns out, and I would obviously be amiss if I let this opportunity pass me by!

Actually, the main purpose of our visit was to buy a shower curtain. I like everything about the apartment except the shower, which I currently hate with a passion. Apparently the European thing to do is the place the shower head on the wall in the very center of the shower, pointed at the curtain. Maybe most Europeans are taller than I am, because when I stand there the water is pointed directly at my face. I thought it wouldn’t be a big deal since I could just angle it as far as it would go toward the back of the shower, but, secured though it was with three different bottles, the shower curtain would not stop blowing in and by the time I was done I may as well have taken a bath in the middle of the room.

So we bought a curtain from Ikea that clearly stated it was weighted at the bottom so as to stay where it belongs, however, it was as fatally attracted to me as the first. I’ll be sure to let you know if this situation improves, since I’m sure you are as concerned about it as I am.

We haven’t done anything terribly exciting yet, although we have taken the metro, U bahn, and S bahn several times. We have tickets that work for all of them, but don’t ask me which one is which. We’ve taken it most to Alexanderplatz, which is just a few minutes away and has lots of shopping and eating places. We went there today to find Matt a raincoat, because it is freezing here! Highs in the 50’s and lows in the 30’s. I hope it warms up soon, because I took all the long sleeve shirts out of my suitcase to get it under fifty pounds…

Today we also went to a grocery that’s within walking distance of our apartment. We must have hit it really lucky, because this grocery is the Bio Markt, and is pretty much the European version of Whole Foods (my favorite grocery store on the planet). I could not believe how many varieties of vegetarian hotdogs they had.

I don’t know what we’ll be doing tomorrow, or any other day, for that matter. But to tide you over I do have a few pictures (but not of Berlin). We have a garden in our backyard in Knoxville, and the day we left I was able to pick something from it for the first time:

20110502-111943.jpg

I then proceeded to have them for breakfast.

20110502-112046.jpg

6 thoughts on “I’m blogging!

  1. I laughed the whole way through this post…it is SO YOU! Sounds like you’ve discovered a home away from home. Berlin isn’t as bad as you might have thought, huh?! You and Matt may have found your favorite vacation spot in the whole world….

    The strawberries were beautiful; hope your friend is able to pick and enjoy the rest of them while you’re traveling.

    Keep us updated on your adventures šŸ™‚

  2. For the record, we have NOT taken the S-bahn yet, though we will. We’ve taken the metro tram most of the time. The difference, in case anybody is wondering, is that is that the metro line is light rail, while the S-bahn and U-bahn are heavy rail.

    Also, Mom, this is not Karen’s favorite place…yet. Too cold for her. I now been forced to promise to bring her during summer! It is supposed to get warmer here next week, so maybe that will suffice?!

  3. Doesn’t Barbara Jones come to Germany and spend summers there? Or not…Maybe you can arrange to rent her apartment next summer. I know, it isn’t in Berlin but you can see another part of the country that way.

  4. Pingback: Times flies when you’re having fun… in Berlin! – Geographic musings from Matt Cook

  5. Karen,
    It is so good to hear from you! Berlin may be cold, but what an adventure you can have in a new place. Buy a warm coat for yourself and have fun. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

