Back in school

Hello!

Yesterday was our first day back to school at UTM. My three new freshmen roommates moved in last week, and they all seem very nice (that’s a first!). Erin is from Memphis, Sarah is from Franklin, and Jordan is from Athens. Jordan is also in University Singers. Speaking of which, I know some of you have been wondering what schedule is like this semester. On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday mornings I have theory IV, conducting, and voice science and pedagogy (but not Friday). In the afternoon I have university singers and Spanish advanced conversation. My voice lesson is on Monday mornings, and Monday nights from 6-9 I have exceptional child (an education class). On Wednesday instead of Spanish I have recital. Dr. Nappo was nice enough to let me take the class even though I can only come two days a week. ^_^

I have New Pacers on Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday. But other than that, the only class I have on Tuesday and Thursday is aural skills, which is being taught this year by Mrs Dr. Simmons. There was quite an episode in our first class this morning when a spider fell out of Mrs Dr.’s hair, causing her to scream and launch her notebook across the room. Subsequently, the offending spider was thorougly smushed by Sean the percussion major. 

We found out the other day that, contrary to what Mr Dr. Simmons had been planning last semester, choir tour is not going to be in Florida this year. In fact, it’s not going to be a normal choir tour at all — it’s a New Pacers tour! We’re just touring in Tennessee like our freshman year, but different places. It’s going to be much cheaper and much more fun to tour with a group of closer to 20 than 50 singers. Dr. Simmons mentioned that one of our stops is going to be in Pidgeon Forge. Are you thinking what I’m thinking? I hope it’s not too late to see about reserving the chalet!

In other news, you may have seen my twitter mourning the loss of my friend Panpanpan. He was a black kuhli loach  and my most favorite fishy. He started swimming upside a the top of the water one afternoon and got flushed away via the porcelain express the next. Goodbye, Pangio Pantalaimon Pantalones!

Of course, I needed to get a new fish to replace my beloved Panpanpan. So Matt and I went to Wal*Mart to look at their selection of dead and dying fish. Have you ever noticed how no Wal*Mart associate can be found anywhere the vicinity of the fish section? We waited, and looked, and waited, had them announce over the intercom that customers desperately needed help in the fish section, and waited, and after about 20 minutes left with just two snails and no fish, having remembered much too late that there was a REAL fish store in Union City.

After the snails floating around in my aquarium started growing things, I deducted that we had, in fact, been sold dead snails. So when we finally went to the glorious fish store in Union City (where they had a wide selection of fish without any signs of the death), we came back with two longfin danios, two very alive blue mystery snails, and two feeder fish for the turtles. The two danios and one snail (who felt the need to reassure me of this sexual orientation this morning, if you know what I mean) are living happily in the little aquarium in my room. The feeder fish and other snail are also, surprisingly, living happily in the turtle tank. Piper and Michelangelo were mildy intrigued by the minnows, but don’t really seem to view them as edible. Lucky for the fish, I guess!

6 thoughts on “Back in school

  1. UPDATE: The other snail is no longer living happily with the turtles. They decided he looked tastier than the feeder fish…

Leave a Reply

