Back in Martin

Things are almost back to normal around here (although I haven’t unpacked everything just yet). I did set up our turtle tank on Sunday, but the very next day read that aquarium gravel, which I had used on the bottom, was dangerous to small turtles who might accidentally eat it. So I ended up buying some rocks at Wal*Mart. Those were some expensive rocks! Five dollars for a bag, and I got two. And I didn’t even use half of them…well, they’ll come in handy whenever Piper and Michelangelo graduate to a bigger enclosure.

Piper and Michelangelo's new house.

Piper and Michelangelo's new house.

In case you didn’t already know, we actually brought back three turtles from Destin — one for Granny and Pop. We couldn’t decide what to get them and then started thinking about how much they like it when a frog or something shows up in their fishpond… So what better present than a turtle? His name is…um…Destin. And I hear that he’s doing just fine. This is a photo that Pop sent me yesterday.

Destin hanging out on his lily pad.

Destin hanging out on his lily pad.

In other news, Matt and I are heading back to Jackson on Friday to celebrate Pop’s 80th birthday. Julie and her family are also driving up from Memphis, so this promises to be a great birthday party!

– Karen

4 thoughts on “Back in Martin

Leave a Reply

